Believe it Forward 

I saw an interesting user name the other day, believeitforward. My first thought was wow that’s kind of a weird name to choose to be known by on social media, and I scrolled on by. My thoughts soon however returned to that odd name. Believeitforward. Believe it forward. 
My mind was racing as I tried comparing believe it forward to pay it forward. Most of us are familiar with the term pay it forward. As I think of pay it forward I remember stories I have heard about someone paying for a coffee or meal for the car behind them while going through a drive through. I also vaguely remember other stories in different settings with the same concept of doing something nice for someone else with the expectation they will do something nice for yet another person. 
Pay it forward. Believe it forward. Can the pay it forward concept apply to believing? How would that even work? How do I even know what to believe let alone how to believe it and pass it on? My quandary brought me to the words I’ve read so often from Jesus.

“He replied, “Because you have so little faith. Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.””

Matthew 17:20 NIV 

Now that’s big stuff, but wait- something I never noticed till I was searching for it to quote  for you is that almost exactly three chapters further Jesus tells us this again!

“Jesus replied, “Truly I tell you, if you have faith and do not doubt, not only can you do what was done to the fig tree, but also you can say to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and it will be done.”

Matthew 21:21 NIV 

I read somewhere once that if it’s in the Bible it’s probably important. If it’s in the Bible more than once it’s probably really important.

Well I don’t know about you, but I’ve never gone out and told a mountain to move because I am usually pretty sure it’s not going to listen to me. I am willing to bet most of you haven’t either, even though I am sure a few of you do the same thing I do when I read these words. “I believe in you God, but… ” “I have faith in God, but I’m going to do this that or the other just in case.” Well I’m betting my faith doesn’t amount to as much as a mustard seed some days, and how can I expect my mountains of problems to be lifted when I don’t have enough faith for the mole hills we face everyday. 

I still haven’t fully wrapped my head around the concept of how to keep a believe it forward cycle moving, but I am not sure that’s where my focus should be anyway. What might happen if I started believing as I prayed or even before that God is at work on my problems. I’ve certainly had faith like that in the midst of trauma. What about today, when everything is as well as I expect it can be, if I lay my problems down with faith they will be seen to? I expect that I would begin to see more progress and resolution if I took each and every issue to the cross rather than just the ones that make me feel like I am drowning. 

Can we believe it forward for someone else? I don’t know about you but I’ve been guilty of saying I would pray for someone, and often by the time I do I’m half hearted, I only half  remember the need or it’s not that significant to me because my mole hills look like mountains.

 I may not be able to ensure that if I pray for someone else, that they will continue the cycle and move on to the same. I can however pray with a believing heart that God is going to work in their lives. I can stop and take a few minute breather from my mountains and pray a sincere prayer for someone else, and what’s more I know I can have faith that it is in Gods hands. Instead of doubting because I hear of how bleak the outcome or options are, if I pray believing God has the issue under control it should certainly be more effective. If I prayed as fervently for someone else as so do my own mole hills might they see effect too?

Friends I challenge you today to Believe it Forward. Take a moment, stop what your doing and place someone’s problems into Gods hands. If they are not believers or are growing weary you just might be the only one who does.  

One thought on “Believe it Forward 

Leave a Reply

