Yes, no and wait

I was talking to a friend this evening. Something she said triggered the memory that I wrote down this title about a month ago. I gave her a brief overview of the story I planned to tell. While I hadn’t outlined it yet or given it much thought I was able to highlight the points I hope to make. After I hung up, I went about more normal business, but it didn’t take long for me to realize it was time to write.

My emphasis for today is that I have found three common answers that God tends to give in response to my prayers, Yes, No, and Wait. My friend, who is a God fearing woman seemed surprised at my statement. I think however, that if we take a moment and really think about our prayers and the answers we have received they will essentially fall into these categories in one way or another. If however you have another answer you have or frequently have received I would love to hear it. You can find my email address on the contact page, or just leave a comment after you finish reading this post.

Sometimes God says yes. He agrees, he approves- this is the right path to take. You feel convicted to do or say something. You may have an overwhelming desire to do it right now and make it happen. The answer is clear, concise and obvious to you. It may not be what someone else wants, or wants to hear but you know without a doubt. 

The next answer I have experienced (quite often) is no. God says no this isn’t what you should do. This isn’t the right thing to say. You may feel doubt. You may feel it isn’t the Christian thing to do. You may have that overwhelming intuition/omen feeling that something bad is going to happen if you go here or do that. Often we will do these things anyway. We just wanted to see. We had to give it a try. The spirit may be willing but the flesh is not. 

“Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.” Mathew 26:41 NIV

I think, because of my human nature and desire to be in control I have experienced this answer the most. I thought I knew what was best for me or I did what I wanted to even though I knew it was wrong. Most of the time way way in the back of mind I knew I was making the wrong choice-even if I didn’t want to admit it.Usually when we make these sorts of choices we reap very little if any reward and we may struggles for months or years to rebound from our poor choices.

The third answer is my favorite. Wait. Sometimes God says wait. The answer isn’t no. It isn’t yet. the answer is its not your time yet. Your not done here yet. Theres more to do. More to learn. You haven’t reached the goal I’ve set before you yet. This season is the hardest. Sometimes I think God is trying to build up mountains of patience in me.

This answer is my favorite though, because we reap the biggest rewards. We later see the biggest blessings. We grow closer to God and our faith becomes stronger. These are the hardest answers. These answers come in the midst of times we think we cannot make it. These answers make us realize we do need our Father in Heaven. Afterwards we have an amazing testimony to share and we can often see why it happened and how our God knew what he was doing all along. Maybe he told us to wait because we weren’t ready. Maybe our marriage wasn’t ready. Maybe our children weren’t ready. Gods timing is perfect. It may seem slow to us but He knows what he’s doing. Let me say it like I tell me kids constantly ” What is our God? (They respond Mighty, Powerful, Good)-my answer- “He’s got this”.

“But do not forget this one thing, dear friends: With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day.” 2 Peter 3:8 NIV

I am praying today that the next time you receive the answer from God to wait that you will look at it differently. Go ahead and ask God, “why am I here?, what do I need to learn? who is this for? “. If you can take a step back and realize God has got this, and his plans are bigger than you, then afterwards you can enjoy the reaping of the harvest even so much more.

3 thoughts on “Yes, no and wait

  1. Thank you Laurie. “My God is mighty, powerful, and good. He’s got this.” I love it. What an uplifting thing to remind ourselves of each and everyday.

    Like

  2. Hi Laurie, thank you so much for writing this blog. Oh my goodness! This is exactly where I am in my journey with our Father. The waiting has been excruciating but I am reminded by this blog that “God’s got it.” I do not want to step ahead of the Lord and totally mess things up. I am also reminded that Jesus had to wait because he too was being “processed” or “prepared.” So Laurie thanks again for your obedience in writing. I am encouraged to know that “He’s got this!”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the support and prayers! I do pray that the Lord will give you strength during your own season of waiting! I know all to well these times can cause us to question our God but he knows exactly what he is doing!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

